One day spent at Hólar University

This morning I went for a walk in the Holar forrest.  The pines were green and looming happily above the damp ground covered in pine needles.  The small turdus iliacus was flying above my head and there was a lot of late summer noise.  The geese are starting to flock in the fields in preparation of flying to more southern latitudes.  I feel a little dread for the autumn storms that I know will eventually come, bringing with them rain and wind of more than 20 m/sec.  I wonder if global warming is making the change of the seasons more difficult, like we could become stuck in perpertual summer or frozen in perpertual winter.    It fills my heart with sadness to know that mankind is having such a huge effect on the natural world, changing the quest for balance which has always been there.  We´re really tipping the scales.  But now in the forest all is quiet and calm except for the fluttering of the birds and I sit down for a moment contemplating my awakening state against a brown wall of sturdy pines.   Holar is really such a wonderful place.  You experience a deep sense of history everywhere you go. There is an archaelogical excavation going on and I wonder what they will find beneath those tephra layers.  The church, the one I married in, is wonderfully constructed and it was restored not so many years ago.  I suddenly feel an urge to sit down at the organ and play but I contain myself and decide not to.  Not that my organ playing is so fabulous,  it´s only rudimentary with a little sparkle of Bach added to it.  I never got very far in my organ studies.  I´ll continue them once I´m seventy and need something to fill my long days with. 

« Síðasta færsla | Næsta færsla »

Bæta við athugasemd

Ekki er lengur hægt að skrifa athugasemdir við færsluna, þar sem tímamörk á athugasemdir eru liðin.

Innskráning

Ath. Vinsamlegast kveikið á Javascript til að hefja innskráningu.

Hafðu samband